Gov. Daugaard Appoints Guffin and Sly to Board of Education Standards

November 14, 2017

PIERRE, S.D. Governor Dennis Daugaard has appointed Dr. Becky Guffin of Aberdeen and former Rep. Jacqueline Sly of Rapid City to the South Dakota Board of Education Standards.

“Dr. Becky Guffin and Jacqueline Sly will bring a great deal of expertise to the Board of Education Standards,” said Gov. Daugaard. “Becky brings the perspective of a current practitioner as the superintendent of the Aberdeen School District. Jacqueline is a retired teacher and past state legislator, whose work as co-chair of the Blue Ribbon Task Force helped to pass teacher pay legislation in 2016.”

Dr. Becky Guffin

Dr. Becky Guffin began her career as a fifth grade teacher in Aberdeen in 1991, working her way up to superintendent in 2014. She earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in education from Northern State University. She earned her educational specialist degree and doctorate from the University of South Dakota. She was named the 2010-11 South Dakota Curriculum Director of the Year and received the South Dakota Counseling Association E. Gordon Pulling Award in 2015.


“I am very excited to serve as a member of the state Board of Education Standards,” said Guffin. “Throughout my career, I have had numerous experiences at the state and national level, which align well with the work of the board. I am honored to serve in this capacity and am looking forward to advocating for quality educational opportunities for all students.”

Jacqueline Sly taught for 37 years throughout South Dakota. She earned her bachelor’s degree in elementary and special education from Northern State University and her master’s in curriculum and instruction from Black Hills State University. Sly served in the South Dakota House of Representatives from 2009 to 2016. During her last two terms, she was chair of the House Education Committee. During her legislative terms, Sly also served as co-chair of the education committees for the Midwest Legislative Conference and the Council of State Governments.

“Public education has always been a part of my professional career,” said Sly. “Even though I have retired from classroom teaching, my desire for the success of young people is still important to me. This appointment will be an opportunity to continue serving.”

Jacqueline Sly

Guffin’s appointment is effective Jan. 1, 2018. She will succeed Don Kirkegaard, who will be resigning due to his appointment as state Secretary of Education. Guffin will serve the remainder of Kirkegaard’s term, which expires in December 2018.

Sly will succeed board member Glenna Fouberg, who is retiring from the board Dec. 31, after 19 years of service. Sly will serve a four-year term, which expires in December 2021.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.