Custer School of Mines Student Caleb Furse Receives Dakota Corps Scholarships

40 Students Receive Dakota Corps Scholarships

PIERRE, S.D. – Forty new South Dakota high school graduates have been awarded Dakota Corps scholarships to pursue careers in critical-need occupations within the state.

Each year, Dakota Corps recipients receive funding equivalent to the cost of tuition and applicable fees at their postsecondary institution. Once graduated, they are required to enter into a critical-need occupation in South Dakota, with terms of service equivalent to the number of years they received the scholarship, plus one year. The scholarships are supported entirely by private donations.

“These students are giving back to our state with the important work they perform in critical-need occupations,” said Gov. Dennis Daugaard. “Dakota Corps ensures these students are educated in South Dakota, remaining here to provide important services and support for fellow South Dakotans. We are grateful to the private businesses and non-profit organizations that recognized the importance of providing these students with scholarships.”

Current occupations that qualify for Dakota Corps Scholarship support include teaching K-12 special education; teaching K-12 foreign languages; teaching high school math, science, or career and technical education; working as an accountant or auditor; working as an engineer (all fields except mining); working as a registered nurse; or working in the information technology field (computer science, information assurance and information security).

The South Dakota Board of Regents administers the Dakota Corps Scholarship program. For more information about this program, contact the board office at 1-800-874-9033 or send an e-mail to

This is a list of the 40 students who are new Dakota Corps Scholarship recipients for the 2016-2017 academic year, sorted by the postsecondary institution where they will be enrolled. The list also includes the student’s hometown.

Augustana University

Marissa Class, Sioux Falls

Madigan Moore, Watertown

Black Hills State University

Skylar Smith, Rapid City

Joshua Vaith, Scotland

Dakota State University

Austin Babcock, Sioux Falls

Jarod Keene, Rapid Cit

Northern State University

Haylie Krogstad, Huron

South Dakota School of Mines & Technology

Jeremy Dalldorf, Milbank

Stephen Diede, Aberdeen

Caleb Furse, Custer

Samuel Gusso, Yankton

Kayla Huber, Spearfish

Cody Kronaizl, Vermillion

Emelia Nelson, Mina

Justin Nielson, Brookings

Taylor O’Brien, Rapid City

Hunter O’Connor, Sioux Falls

Emily Parks, Mitchell

Juel Pluimer, Spearfish

Michael Rogers, Aberdeen

Helen Squyer, Sioux Falls

Bryan Waugh, Spearfish

Connor Weber, Aberdeen

South Dakota State University

Taylor Fauth, Leola

Megan Fiala, Miller

Jenna Harrison, Rapid City

Spencer Huber, Yankton

Joel Kocer, Sioux Falls

Katherine Lucas, Parkston

Braden Paulsen, Brandon

Tanner Rupp, Freeman

Dylan Sommers, Aberdeen

Hannah Stein, Watertown

Megan Unzen, Groton

Daxx Wiebelhaus, Letcher

University of Sioux Falls

Kailey Eskam, Sioux Falls

University of South Dakota

Megan Erickson, Montrose

Christian Fossum, Mitchell

Jessica Muehlbeier, Yankton

Emily Wieczorek, Mount Vernon

Categories: Custer, South Dakota

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s